Beating writers block

Writer's block II by Drew Coffman, used with permission under CC BY 2.0

Writer’s block II by Drew Coffman, used with permission under CC BY 2.0

Here at the ILN, we like to try and keep new content coming on a regular basis, so that you, our readers will always have a fresh and interesting reason to come back and visit us and be part of our international community.

Sometimes the responsibility of coming up with another blog post (or at work, another report, recommendation or briefing) feels overwhelming though. This week I’ve been suffering from writers block (or is it bloggers block I wonder?) and thought I’d share a couple of strategies that got me over the hurdle and here to this point of typing up a new post.

First, I realise that this happens to everyone, so checked in with a friend. When I confessed to my fellow ILN Directors that I couldn’t think of a single thing to write this week, they quickly suggested I write about my struggle with finding something to write!

Step 1 was out of the way then. Next step was to look for a few online articles (or preferably other blog posts) about bloggers block and think about a way to link them all together here in my post. I even found a library blog that brings together calls for papers and publishing opportunities – the ultimate solution to writer’s block perhaps?

Once I had these few key pieces I started writing and before I knew it, I had an almost complete blog post ready to go out.

Do you have tried and true strategies for overcoming writer’s block to keep your blog content up to date? Share them with us in the comments or on social media using #interlibnet.

– Clare

 

Leave a Reply

