Discussion topic: Books, glorious books!

FreeBooksJoeShablotnikHow many times have you had friends or family say that it must be lovely to be a librarian and be able to read or work with books all day? (How many of you are nodding your heads right now….?)

How many times have you wondered if anyone who is not a librarian will ever understand that our jobs are not just (or even) about books? Despite all the other functions of libraries, the vast majority of libraries are built around books, and sharing the information contained within. Small, large, first world or developing, public, academic or school, books have for many years been the building blocks of libraries. At my own large academic library, our traditional lending statistics are dropping each year, but the number and usage of e-books we have in our collection continues to grow – students are still using our books, but the format has shifted.

There is a romance about books that people are attracted to.  There’s a host of memes about books and reading, from the BBC 100 books challenge to a 30 day book meme, with a different question about books each day. You can keep track of your own books and share your reviews with a community by using a service such as  Library Thing or GoodReads.

As you may have guessed, our discussion topic for this week revolves around books and we pose the following three questions as a suggestion for discussion with your ILN partner.

  1. Do you belong to a book community such as GoodReads or Library Thing? Or do you belong to a book club?
  2. What 3 books would you take with you to a desert island and why? (they might be your favourites or something you have always wanted to read but never quite got around to it.)
  3. Print or e? Why?

To help you along, we’ve asked some volunteers from around the world to answer these questions for us and we will be posting these over the coming week or so. We will also share links to some book related memes that you may like to take part in. As always, we welcome your comments below or you can join in the conversation on Facebook or Twitter using #interlibnet.

4 comments

  1. I belong to GoodReads – like to keep track of what I’ve read but not that keen on reading other people’s reviews. Reading to me is more a private and personal thing. Wish it was around earlier in my life so that I could see all the books I’ve read!

    Too hard to choose just three – I think something that would make me think and distract me from the fact that I’m on a desert (or did you mean deserted?) island – maybe some Haruki Murakami, some Isabel Allende and something reeeallly long.

    I used to think it didn’t matter and I have read quite a few books on my Kindle, but really, print is preferable. I retain more. Can’t say why. And the fact that books make a room cosy and they are somehow nostalgic, since practically everything else is electronic these days.

  2. julanne · · Reply

    1. Sci Fi Book Chat on Second Life; 2. Only 3?????? Nooooooooooooo!!!!!!; 3. e for fiction, I’ve run out of storage at my place, and my fave is the one I love at the moment 🙂

  3. Pretty excited about finding this place through my ALIA email this week. Please don’t ask me to take just three favourite books to the Island, I would likely cry choosing just that many, plus they would have to be survival books because lets face it Librarians don’t have a lot of time to dedicate to survival training 🙂

  4. vandringmed · · Reply

    I have read 15 of the BBC 100 books. But do I or we need to read all the books that people say is good. Or can we have my one favorit books??
    I am Just read Anne from Greengables and I love the book. What is your favorit book?

Leave a Reply

