2014 Library Resolutions: Alyson Dalby

I spent new year's eve and day hiking in the Bay of Fires, Tasmania.

I spent new year’s eve and day hiking in the Bay of Fires, Tasmania.

Alyson Dalby, ILN Program Coordinator. Sydney, Australia

My 2013 has been crazy, a whole year of professional firsts and achievements. My challenge for 2014 is to take some time to reinforce some of the things I learned, rather than jumping quickly to more shiny new things. So you’ll see that my list below is about convincing myself to stand still for a moment.
1. What is one new thing you want to start doing in 2014?
In 2014 I want to implement partially-automated participant matching for the ILN! As we’ve grown quickly we’ve found that our method of manually matching participants is way too time-consuming, and unsustainable. Most of our applicants are wonderfully open about what they’re looking for in a professional partner, so we should be able to do at least preliminary matching using an algorithm. My husband is quite the IT geek, between us we’ve been trying to figure out how to make this work and we’re aiming to implement it for the next round of the program.
 
2. What is one thing you want to try doing differently in 2014? 
I’d like to approach my current job more proactively. I’m in a 12 month acting position, and I feel like I’ve spend the first six months taking the job in – I now have just six months left to prove what I’m capable of. To do this I’m going to have to be more proactive, and seek out ways to make a contribution to my team, rather than waiting for those opportunities to present themselves to me.
 
3. What is one thing you want to stop doing in 2014? 
Unfortunately, my goal for 2014 is to not go overseas. I did a lot of travel in 2013, much of it for professional purposes, and while I love travelling it made for an exhausting year and it took my focus away from the professional concerns right in front of me. In 2014 I need to focus on my current roles, which means I need to have the discipline to not undertake any international travel. This will be a difficult goal for me to achieve – I could be very easily talked out of it!

Leave a Reply

