2014 Library Resolutions: Clare McKenzie

IFLA welcome signClare McKenzie (ILN Program Coordinator) in Sydney, Australia

2013 was actually quite a good year for me professionally and it’s been interesting to reflect on that over the past week as things have slowed down a little at work. The highlight was the trip to Singapore for the IFLA World Library and Information Congress in August but there were plenty of other highs, most (but not all) related to the ILN. It makes me wonder what 2014 has in store for me! I’m usually hesitant to make New Years resolutions as I worry about setting myself up to fail – but here goes nothing.

1. What is one new thing you want to start doing in 2014? 

Thinking more strategically about my job, my role as a leader and opportunities for my career. I had the opportunity to attend a high level strategic leadership course towards the end of the year and I’d like to capitalise on that as much as I can.

2. What is one thing you want to try doing differently in 2014?

Have a bit more faith in myself and my abilities. I have been part of an amazing experience with the ILN over the past 12 months and stepping back this week to reflect on what we’ve achieved has been eye-opening. Next time I wonder if I can do something, I’m going to think about this and remind myself that I probably can 🙂

3. What is one thing you want to stop doing in 2014?

I am going to finally stop studying! After 13 years and 2 degrees my time as a student is coming to an end at the beginning of 2014 and I’m really looking forward to it. I am reluctant to say ‘never again’ because you just never know what’s around the corner but I think I can safely say that for the next few years at least, formal study is at an end for me very soon.

2 comments

  1. I don’t know about 13 years not being a long time! It has seemed like forever to me 🙂 I agree that learning is an ongoing thing, I just think I might study something more fun like singing or yoga or French this year!

  2. Thaks Claire for this new topic which I think fits in
    this time of the year. I myself have not put in place this year’s Resolution of what I intend to do and not but as we go ahead with this discussion, am optimistic I will have made one.
    Claire, studies never end and think your 13 years is not a long time. Studies is a continuous activity.
    I highly welcome this topic and hope my partner in Poland will appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

